Creating A Video

Next Multimedia Class assignment:  to create a video on Universal Design and/or STEAM! How hard can it be? It should be a piece of cake right? Our professor said the video should be between 30 seconds to 3 minutes long. Others in class were asking “Is that enough time?” After taking an initial stab at it, I can definitely say that the time she gave us is more than enough! Creating a video that is interesting and with enough content to keep an audience engaged for over a minute is not that easy. Now I wish I paid more attention to the YouTube stars!

I was initially going to create a video on cooking as a science and art. But changed my mind and decided to focus on our beautiful campus instead. Peninsula College’s setting is just extraordinary. It is nestled on the foothills of the Olympic Mountains and overlooks the Strait of San Juan De Fuca in the Pacific ocean.  On a clear day, we can see Victoria BC from our parking lot. Just stunning!

This is our view at school on a sunny day! Photo c/o
This is our view at school on a sunny day! Photo c/o Peninsula College website

So, armed with my handy-dandy iPhone 5S, (which is without service btw) I started shooting video clips of the school, paying particular attention to thoughtful incorporation of universal design. I have taken about 40-50 video clips that are between 2 to 12 seconds long. I was creating the video on my mind, but have also jotted down ideas on a yellow pad (see below).

yellow-pad-notes
The yellow pad (the color did not transfer upon scanning) contains my scribbles.

Watching video tutorials on YouTube (who doesn’t nowadays!) was the next step. They made it all look easy! I then uploaded the video clips on to YouTube with the setting all on private. And that was the end of the easy part. Each of the video clips required adjustments! I have to reduce the shake, clip the clip (ha, I like that), add transition (not really needed but hey I love the punishment). Then I have to choose a background music. Who knew there are hundreds upon hundreds of sound effects and songs in various genres to choose from? I am only using songs that are free or attribution free so I don’t get sued. And I want to be respectful of other’s intellectual property. I initially chose a Tchaikovsky song played by the Russian Symphony Orchestra,  but it was way too dramatic. So I chose another song.

It was going well until I mistakenly hit on a button then the video was created. What a mess. I am not finished with the annotations and titles and don’t want to start all over again. 😦  I searched for a solution, according to YouTube, I can still annotate the video. However, the annotation will not appear on Chromeless players or mobile and tablet devices which kinda suck 😦 but I can’t be choosy since I made the mistake. So after several days the video is done! See for yourself, click on the title: Peninsula College – Designed for You.

Thanks for reading, with the video finished maybe now I can sleep.

Leave a Reply

